How to cook Morel Mushrooms

The morel is a spring mushroom. It is one of the most difficult mushrooms to spot in the forest so it’s not surprising that some people use the term morel hunting.La morille est un champignon de printemps.
Please wait...

Rate this!

Share

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Read also: Mushroom Guide, at the Market, exotic and wild

The morel is a spring mushroom. It is one of the most difficult mushrooms to spot in the forest so it’s not surprising that some people use the term morel hunting. Once you’ve found one, it’s not a bad idea to kneel down as this is how you can sometimes discover others that are almost impossible to see if you stay upright.

 

Picking wild mushrooms is serious business. To learn how to properly identify them, join a circle of mycologists or better, sign up for introductory mycology courses.

Fresh morels can be stored in a brown paper bag for 3 to 4 days in the refrigerator. They are cleaned just before cooking or preparing them for freezing. To clean them, they are immersed in a basin of cold water for a few minutes, drained and placed on absorbent paper or clean cotton cloths. It is not necessary to blanch the morels to freeze them. We spread them out by spacing them on plates and we freeze them before putting them in plastic bags.

Half-thaw them for about 30 minutes at room temperature before cooking them. To dry fresh morels, cut them in half lengthwise before putting them in a dehydrator. Dried morels have a more pronounced and less delicate taste than fresh or frozen morels. To rehydrate them, they are soaked in water for 2 to 5 hours. I use the steeping water in little quantity as I find it gives a strong flavor in a dish. Occasionally I use a small amount in a sauce or soup.

The morel flavor goes well with poultry, veal, pork and potatoes. Like all wild mushrooms, they should be cooked for a minimum of 10 minutes and should never be served raw. A simple cooking consists of cooking them in butter for 2 minutes over low heat, cover and cook for 5 minutes, uncover and cook stirring frequently until golden .

Here is a recipe for morels with bacon and cream to enjoy as a side vegetable or with potato pancakes.

 

Hi, I'm Micheline

Share your ideas and comments with  me and other visitors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Delicious recipes straight to your inbox!

Subscribe to my Newsletter

You will also like

Rhubarb Cheese Pie

Rhubarb Cream Cheese Pie

This pie bakes 15 minutes with a brown sugar rhubarb preparation before covering with a cream cheese preparation and continue cooking. When it comes out of the oven, cover it with a sour cream preparation.

Pickled Easter Eggs

A Little History Not long ago, Easter was the end of a long Lent imposed by the Catholic religion. There

Perdrix à la crème

Roast Partridge with cream sauce

A succulent roast partridge drizzled with cream as it bakes. This dish is undoubtedly the favorite of my family and friends who are hoping for an invitation to our table.

Cooking with Micheline

Cuisiner les morilles

Cuisiner les morilles
Consulter aussi:
Guide de cuisine des champignons de couche, exotiques et sauvages

Cuisiner les morilles

La morille est un champignon de printemps. C’est un des champignons les plus difficiles à repérer en forêt il n’est donc pas surprenant que certains utilisent l’expression chasse à la morille. Une fois qu’on a en trouvé une, ce n’est pas une mauvaise idée de s’agenouiller car c’est ainsi qu’on peut parfois en découvrir d’autres quasi impossible à voir si on reste debout.

La cueillette des champignons sauvages est une affaire sérieuse. Pour vous initier à bien les identifier, joignez-vous à un cercle de mycologues ou mieux, inscrivez-vous à des cours d’initiation à la mycologie.

Les morilles fraîches se conservent dans un sac de papier brun pendant 3 à 4 jours au réfrigérateur. On les nettoie juste avant de les cuisiner ou de les préparer pour la congélation. Pour les nettoyer, on les plonge dans un bassin d’eau froide pendant quelques minutes, on les égoutte et on les dépose sur des papiers absorbants ou des linges de coton propres. Il n’est pas nécessaire de blanchir les morilles pour les congeler. On les étale en les espaçant sur des plaques et on les congèle avant de les mettre dans des sacs de plastiques.

On les décongèle à demi pendant environ 30 minutes à température ambiante avant de les faire cuire. Pour les faire sécher, couper les en deux sur la longueur avant de les mettre dans un déshydrateur. Ces dernières ont un goût plus prononcées et moins délicats que les morilles fraîches ou congelées. Pour les réhydrater, on les fait tremper dans l’eau pendant 2 à 5 heures. J’utilise peu l’eau de trempage car je trouve qu’elle donne un goût prononcé aux mets. À l’occasion j’en utilise en petite quantité dans une sauce ou une soupe.

La morille se marie bien aux volailles, au veau, au porc et aux pommes de terre. Comme tous les champignons sauvages, on doit les faire cuire un minimum de 10 minutes et on ne doit jamais les servir crues. Une simple cuisson consiste à les faire cuire dans du beurre pendant 2 minutes à feu doux, couvrir et cuire 5 minutes, découvrir et cuire jusqu’à dorées en remuant fréquemment.

Voici une recette de morilles aux lardons et à la crème à déguster comme légume d’accompagnement ou avec des galettes de pommes de terre.



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée.


Recevez les nouvelles recettes, articles et conseils en primeur!

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !